5411 S. ASHLAND AVE.  |   CHICAGO IL 60609  |  TEL (773) 306 - 1981  |  INFO@16THWARD.ORG




 2019 © All Rights Reserved

There are 77 divisions of community areas officially recognized by the City of Chicago. Community areas are distinct from neighborhoods in Chicago. Community areas often encompass groups of neighborhoods. Although many community areas contain more than one neighborhood, they may also share the same name, or parts of the name, of some of their individual neighborhoods.


Neighborhood names and identities have evolved over time due to real estate development and changing demographics. Chicago's 16th Ward is home to 5 of theses of these historic and diverse community areas Chicago Lawn, Englewood, Gage Park, New City, and West Englewood.

About the Ward